Kasol, here I come.!

The year 2016 was really interesting. I had started working in an airline company as a flight attendant, travelling almost everyday but this just wasn’t enough. All I could see were different airports and an aerial view of every city I landed. And, an occasional layover in Delhi, Calcutta or Hyderabad. 

I had made up my mind, I was going to save money and invest in my trips. My first ever trip without any parental supervision and by putting in my own money was in January 2016 and what better place than Kasol and Manali. Had booked it through BagPackers group.


Now all I had to do was convince my mom to let me go and had to also apply for leaves. Just when you think you are old enough to make your own decisions, parents decide that nope you aren’t that old enough. And, even if your parents don’t have a say in your travel decisions there comes another problem how do you convince your company to grant you a 7 day long leave.?

After a lot of drama at home and lying about my health in the company I somehow managed to go on this trip.  By now everyone knows that I just can’t seem to pack, I need help but because my mom wasn’t talking to me (I told her just 1 night before that I was leaving for a trip) I had to pack on my own. 

https://www.google.co.in/amp/s/www.pinterest.com/amp/pin/182255116143811599/

My flight was booked, I had to reach the counter 45 minutes before departure. I ended up reaching 30 minutes prior, the counters were closed. With a little luck by my side, I convinced them to issue my boarding pass and they said ‘if I can make it to the gate before the airplane door closes nothing like it’. I thanked them and ran like nobody was watching although I’m sure the way I ran everybody was watching. Lucky for me, I knew the airport very well, realised that the gates had changed and I wouldn’t have to run much. And, I made it! They had not even started boarding. 


I landed in Delhi an hour late, Tushita my best friend landed before me, picked me up from Terminal 1 and we went to her aunts place in Delhi. Delhi was surprisingly very cold, I had clearly underestimated the cold. I realised I hadn’t packed enough warm clothes for this cold.

Tushita’s aunt was kind enough to take us shopping in the evening, we picked up a pair of gloves, a beanie and woolen socks. We were sorted. Well tushita was. I probably would have to buy sweaters, hoodies, jackets, coats and a suitcase to put that all in. 

It was time to repack and leave for the bus journey to Kasol. It was mostly Delhi crowd and everyone had big suitcases and I think I had the smallest suitcase. We left Delhi at around 7pm, after a million smoke breaks we stopped for Dinner, the place was freezing cold. After having an overpriced dinner we left immediately. Made quite a few friends in the bus; Riddhi a solo traveller with purple streaked hair, Abhishek with a watermelon flavoured e-hookah and Gourav, solo traveller from Delhi.



Next day morning we reached Bhuntar, a beautiful place, people sipped hot tea to keep themselves warm and I drank hot water (I don’t like tea but I love hot water). It was now time to get into the jeeps to reach Kasol. Tushita, Riddhi and I, teamed up with Abhishek and his friends for the jeep ride. 


On our way, we had a minor accident, nobody was hurt but the jeep behind us broke down and while we waited for another jeep to arrive, the others made a small bonfire started singing songs and played the guitar. Looking at this I knew we were going to have the time of our life here in Kasol. 

Published by ShreYeah

A wanderlust. Cinephile. Dreamer.

4 thoughts on “Kasol, here I come.!

Leave a comment